The End of the World and Happiness

I’m very happy right now because The Arrival of Missives has made the longlist of books worthy of attention in regards to the James Tiptree Jr Award. That award’s recommendations has provided me with plenty of great books to read in the past, and I’m really looking forward to exploring the other books on the list with mine.

But on to the end of the world. Time has whizzed by and we’re fast approaching Saturday March 25th when I will be having a conversation with M R Carey and Leila Abu El Hawa about the A-Z of apocalyptic writing as part of the Essex Book Festival. M R Carey and I have mushroom-heavy plots in common, and Leila is the most knowledgeable person I know about matters relating to the end of mankind. She even once explained to me where I was going wrong with jam-making (a necessary skill once all the supermarkets have been looted), so I’m hoping for some more survival tips from her and a great conversation generally at 11.30am at the Lord Ashcroft Building, Anglia Ruskin University, Chelmsford. You can buy tickets here.

 

Leave a Reply

