Fantastical Events and Bird Charming

I’ve been tinkering with a new novella for the past few months, but also writing some new short stories. It’s been a while since I went on a story-writing rampage so I’m feeling a bit rusty.

Therefore it’s good to have a reminder of why it’s worth persevering to get it right with the appearance of my story Bird Charming for Beginners in the latest British Fantasy Society magazine, BFS Horizons #3. A piece of fantasy set in a world of magic and persuasion, I enjoyed creating that one.

There are a few events coming up in August that I’ll be taking part in, the big thing being Nine Worlds in London (12-14 Aug). Hope to see you there. But if you’re closer to the Western side of the country then try Waterstones in Exeter, Devon, on the 11th August for a discussion about Westcountry Weird. I’ll be chatting with Nina Allan and Catriona Ward about why we’ve set our strange books in Devon, Somerset, and suchlike. I’m really looking forward to it, not least because it means a trip home and a cream tea or two for me. Cream first, of course.

bfs horizons 3

 

Leave a Reply

