Quiet Work

I’m currently working on the third of three linked novellas and pretending not to notice that its only a few weeks until the Shirley Jackson awards are upon us. It will be great to reach the pinnacle of all the excitement but I have enjoyed this period of being shortlisted; it’s almost like having an invisible badge (rock?) pinned to your chest. Shirley Jackson nominee. That is, flabbergastingly, me.

Apart from that, I’ve finally got around to writing about Powell and Pressburger films in the 1940s as I’ve always intended to do. I read a short story at the first Unsung Live event, which was loads of fun even if I did have to disappear off quick because of train timetables; I hope there are many more such evenings of live SFF lit courtesy of Unsung and that I get to attend at least one of them all the way through.

And I’ve updated the ‘About’ page on my website. See above and click the link for a look. Apart from that, all quiet here. Ssssh. I have to finish this novella before the summer holidays start.

Leave a Reply

